My favourite foods to eat in Tokyo, Japan

Japanese food is something I can’t have enough of; my all-time favourite food is none other than sushi and sashimi. I crave for them almost every one or two weeks. I can never get bored of Japanese food. Hence, Japan is one of my favourite countries to visit. If you are like me or have similar palate, I bet you will fall for Japanese food deeply as much as I do. ❤

These are my favourite foods in Tokyo; they are foods that I miss and crave for when I am in Singapore.

Tsukiji Fish Market 築地市場

Sushi Daiwa at Tsukiji Fish Market
My favourite uni and tamago sushi from Sushi Daiwa.
Wagashi at Tsukiji Fish Market
Look at the beautiful shades of azuki!
Scallops from Tuna Miyako マグロ みやこ at Tsukiji Outer Market
Look at huge scallops! x2 *screams*

Onigiri-ya Marutoyo おにぎり屋 丸豊 at Tsukiji Outer Market

Tsukiji Fish Market is a market where the locals and tourists frequent to buy and eat fresh seafood. It is a place I’d go for sushi and other foods like grilled scallop, wagashi, onigiri, and more. The sushi from Sushi Daiwa is the best sushi I’ve eaten and thankfully, I’ve had it twice. 😀

Read my full review on Tsukiji Fish Market in Tokyo, Japan.

Tsukiji Fish Market 築地市場
5 Chrome-2-1 Tsukiji, Chuo, Tokyo 104-0045, Japan. Nearest stations: Toei Oedo Line Tsukijishijo Station Exit A1 or Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line Tsukiji Station Exit 1.
5.30am – early afternoon. Closed on Sundays, national holidays and occasionally on Wednesdays.

Ichiran Ramen 一蘭

Ichiran Ramen Japan

Ichiran Ramen is the best ramen I’ve had and lives up to its reputation of being the best ramen in the world. This is the only ramen that I missed and craved for. At 790 yen (SGD$10.13) for a basic bowl of ramen with 2 pieces of chashu pork slices, it is cheaper than any other ramen in Singapore. You can customise the richness of the soup, texture of the noodles, and everything else. An additional egg is 120 yen (SGD$1.50) and additional 3 slices of chashu pork slices cost 180 yen (SGD$2.30).

Ichiran ramen also sells take home pack. There are 3 packs of ramen but without the chashu pork slices in a set and it costs 790 yen (SGD$10.13). I bought 2 sets home for emergency craving but sadly, it did not taste as good as the one I had in Japan. Ichiran ramen has many outlets in Japan, including Kyoto and Osaka too.

Ichiran Ramen 一蘭
Ichiran Shibuya Spain-zaka 一蘭 渋谷スペイン坂店 @ Koyasuwan Building B1F 13-7 Udagawacho Shibuya-ku Tokyo-to 150-0042. Nearest station: JR Yamanote LineTokyo Metro Ginza Line, Tokyo Metro Hanzomon Line, or Tokyo Metro Fukutoshin Line Shibuya station 渋谷駅.
Opens 24 hours daily.
Website: Ichiran

Cafe & Meal MUJI 無印良品

Muji Cafe Japan

I’m a huge Muji fan and I really like Muji’s stuffs, snacks, and food. Minimalist, peaceful yet warm and practical is what I like about it. I feel comfortable shopping or dining at Muji’s Cafe and it feels like a home away from home for its familiar brand and food. Hence, I always visit Muji and its cafe whenever I visit Japan or other countries. Muji Yurakucho is the flagship store in Japan.

The dishes always change but my favourite is the pumpkin salad. A set meal of 3 dishes and 1 bowl of white rice is 800 yen (SGD$10.25), 4 dishes and 1 bowl of white rice costs 1,000 yen (SGD$12.80). Try their pudding (380 yen, SGD$4.90) and chocolate cake (420 yen, SGD$5.40). These two desserts are really good (better than Singapore) and I always have to order them.

Cafe & Meal MUJI 無印良品
Meal MUJI Yurakucho 無印良品 有樂町 @ Yurakucho 2F, 3-8-3 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-0005, Japan (インフォス有楽町 2F, 3-8-3 Marunouchi, 千代田区 Tokyo 100-0005, Japan). Located next to LOFT. Nearest station: Tokyo Metro Yurakucho Line or JR Yamanote Line Yurakucho Station 有楽町駅.
10am – 9pm daily.
Website: Muji Cafe & Meal

Bento from Daimaru Tokyo 大丸 ホームページ

Tokyo Station's Daimaru Food

Tokyo Station's Daimaru Bentos

Located in Tokyo station’s Daimaru department store, this is my favourite place to buy bento. There are many stores selling bento and these are the ones I’ve tried and really liked, ranging from 700 – 1,600 yen (SGD$9 – $20.50) after discount. Daimaru closes at 8.30pm (GMT+8 is 7.30pm); wait for the closing time to buy the bento as the leftover ones are going on discount, saving you as much as 800 yen (SGD$10.30).

Daimaru Tokyo 大丸 ホームページ
Daimaru Tokyo, 1 Chome-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo-to 100-6701, Japan. Nearest station: Tokyo Marunouchi Line or JR Yamanote Line Tokyo Station.
10am – 9pm on weekdays. 10am – 8pm on weekends.
Website: Daimaru Tokyo

Bento from Tokyo station’s JR Shinkansen

Tokyo Station's JR Shinkansen Bentos

Tokyo Station's JR Shinkansen Bentos

Another place that I’d go for bento is none other than JR Shinkansen’s bentos area. There are various bentos, from affordable to deluxe set, from 700 yen (SGD$9) onwards. Eating delicious bento on my Shinkansen trip from Tokyo to Kyoto makes it a much enjoyable one.

JR Shinkansen Tokyo Station
Tokyo Station, 1 Chome-9 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo 100-0005, Japan (Tokyo Station 〒100-0005 丁目, 1 Chome-9 Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo 100-0005, Japan). Nearest station: Tokyo Metro Marunouchi Line or JR Yamanote Line Tokyo Station.

L’occitane Cafe ロクシタンカフェ

L'occitane Cafe Shibuya Interior

L'occitane Cafe Shibuya's Roasted Beef Salad and Creme Brulee

My favourite cafe to go for high tea. The cafe is located on the second and third floors of the shop. The interior of the cafe is beautiful and the food is good.

The first time I went there, I had roasted beef salad that comes with bread, soup, and drink (tea/coffee). The soup was cold soup but strangely, it was really nice; I found out that Japanese kind of soup is usually cold soup unlike Singapore’s hot soup. The roasted beef salad was well-mixed with tomatoes and avocados, even the tomatoes were so nice.

The creme brulee is the best one I’ve eaten. It was sweet so I felt an instant happiness when I was eating it haha. This is a meal that I definitely missed and will be back for more if I visit Tokyo again.

A salad set and creme brulee costs around 2,700 yen (SGD$34.60).

L'occitane Cafe Shibuya's Dessert Medley of Creme Brulee and Cheesecake

You can go for this 4 mini desserts in a set at 1,540 yen (SGD$19.70) if you want to try different desserts yet do not want to order them in original size. These mini desserts were yummy! The cheesecake and raspberry sorbet were good. As for the creme brulee, I still prefer the original size than the mini size as the texture and thickness is different.

If you want to have a meal there, go during lunch or dinner time. Otherwise, you can go in the late afternoon to have their dessert set.

L’occitane Cafe ロクシタンカフェ
L’occitane Cafe Shibuya 渋谷店 テラス・ド・プロヴァンス @ Shibuya, 渋谷 駅前 ビル 1-3 階, Tokyo 150-0043, Japan. Nearest station: JR Yamanote LineTokyo Metro Ginza Line, Tokyo Metro Hanzomon Line, or Tokyo Metro Fukutoshin Line Shibuya Station.
10am – 9pm daily.
Website: L’occitane Cafe

Maple syrup pancake and onigiri from Family Mart

Family Mart Japan's Onigiri and Bento

Family Mart Japan's Breads and Pastries

Family Mart Japan's Best Maple Syrup Pancake

If you want something on the go but not sure what to eat, just go to any Family Mart to buy an onigiri. The wide varieties of onigiri often make me at a loss when deciding which one to buy. I’d recommend the cooked salmon onigiri, roe onigiri, or mentaiko onigiri. Ume onigiri was too sour for me.

Besides onigiri, try the breads and bentos too. You can ask the shop assistant to help you to microwave the bento. My favourite bread is maple syrup pancake, which is only 108 yen (SGD$1.40). It is the best pancake I’ve had, better than McDonald’s pancakes in Singapore and it is bought from a convenience store! There were maple syrup and butter in the thick and fluffy pancakes yet the sweetness was just right. There are 2 pieces in a pack and it is cheap! I had this for 5 days’ breakfast and it is definitely my favourite bread in Family Mart.

Family Mart
Opens 24 hours daily.

Farmer’s Market @ UNU

Farmer's Market @ UNU in Tokyo, Japan

Farmer’s Market @ UNU is one of Tokyo’s longest running markets. You can find organic and local fruits, bakes, tableware, coffee beans etc. Some of the farmers came from other regions of Japan to sell their harvests and promote their farms.

One advice is to go around 2pm as some of the fruits would be on discount when it is near the closing time.

Farmer’s Market @ UNU
5-53-70, Jingumae, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo 150-0001, Japan (Japan, 〒150-0001 Tokyo, Shibuya, Jingumae, 5 Chome-53-70, 国際連合大学前). Located in front of United Nation University in Aoyama. Nearest station: Tokyo Metro Chiyoda Line, Tokyo Metro Ginza Line, or Tokyo Metro Hanzomon Line Omotesando Station Exit B2.
10am – 4pm on weekends.

Calbee Plus Tokyo カルビープラス東京駅店

Calbee Plus Tokyo Station's potato chips with soft serve ice cream

Calbee potato chips with Royce chocolate and soft-served ice cream at 460 yen (SGD$5.90). The chips were so crispy. The combination of potato chips and ice cream may sound weird but the sweetness of the ice cream complements the chips well. It was really good!

Calbee Plus Tokyo カルビープラス東京駅店
Japan, 〒100-0005 Tokyo, Chiyoda, Marunouchi, 1 Chome−9−1 JR東京駅. Nearest station: Tokyo Metro Marunouchi Line or JR Yamanote Line Tokyo Station.
9am – 9pm daily.
Website: Calbee Store

Date of visit: July 2015 (Summer) and May 2016 (Spring).

Currency exchange rates: SGD$1 to 91 yen in July 2015 and SGD$1 to 78 yen in May 2016.


Other similar reviews: Tsukiji Fish Market in Tokyo, Japan

One thought on “My favourite foods to eat in Tokyo, Japan

Leave a Reply

